Tags

, , , , ,

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

Assalamu Alaikum.

I came across a rather fantastic book a few months ago, entitled “Musaabiqaat Quraniyyah” (Quran Competition) by Muhammad bin Murshid Al-Murshid. It was apparently a much-printed book, and was now in its 5th edition.

It was in a question and answer format, where each question was related to the Quran. It contained a total of 30 Q and A sets, with each set containing 15 questions each, meaning that the total number of questions was 450.

What I liked about the book was that the Q and A format makes one really want to keep reading.

Obviously, the book was in Arabic. So, I decided to translate it question by question.

What I thought I would do is translate at least 5 questions per week. Each week, I’ll post the new set of questions as well as the answers of the previous week, insha-Allah.

However, I would really like the readers to get involved and try to answer the questions (in the comment section) rather than just wait for the answer.

Question to all of you: What do you think? Would you like me to do things in a different way?

A last note: I’m new to this whole translation business so some of it may sound a bit clunky. Suggestions are always welcome.

So, let’s start:

[Note: So far I have not come across anything incorrect, but if I do, I’ll mention it, insha-Allah.]

Q1: What is the complete definition of the Quran (i.e. what is the Quran)?

Q2: Regarding whom was the following ayah (verse) revealed:


أَوَمَن كَانَ مَيْتًا فَأَحْيَيْنَاهُ وَجَعَلْنَا لَهُ نُورً‌ا يَمْشِي بِهِ فِي النَّاسِ كَمَن مَّثَلُهُ فِي الظُّلُمَاتِ لَيْسَ بِخَارِ‌جٍ مِّنْهَا ۚ كَذَٰلِكَ زُيِّنَ لِلْكَافِرِ‌ينَ مَا كَانُوا يَعْمَلُونَ

“Is he who was dead (without Faith by ignorance and disbelief) and We gave him life (by knowledge and Faith) and set for him a light (of Belief) whereby he can walk amongst men, like him who is in the darkness (of disbelief, polytheism and hypocrisy) from which he can never come out? Thus it is made fair­seeming to the disbelievers that which they used to do.” [Surah Al-Anaam (6) : 122]

Question 3: Which of the two is more correct: to say short (aqsar) surah or small (asghar) surah? And why?

Question 4: How many Prophets are mentioned in the Quran (by name)?

Question 5: In which Surah is the Hoopoe (Hud hud) mentioned?

To be continued…

