Tags

, , , , , ,

Assalamu Alaikum.

Yes, it’s been ages since my last post. Insha-Allah, I’ll try to be more regular from now on.

Here’s another blog dedicated to the tafsir of the Quran:

http://tafseerulquran.wordpress.com/

It’s very nice, masha-Allah. The brother writes his own articles (unlike me).

As with the other blog that I mentioned, I don’t necessarily agree with everything that he says. For example, he states that “the niqab is fard” opinion is the majority. While I wear niqab (and absolutely love it) and hate those who try to get women to remove their niqab, as far I as I know this is the minority opinion. However, from what I have read, it is also the official position of three of the four madhhabs (i.e. that niqab is fard).

[Note: I’m not on either side. I haven’t decided whether it’s obligatory or recommended yet (I cover my face in front of all non-mahrams whether at home or outside so it doesn’t matter much to me) , although it is undoubtedly at least recommended. There is a consensus of the scholars on this. Yet, we still find laymen chirping on about how “niqab is not from Islam” or “niqab is merely permissible, not recommended”.

Yes, of course, because 1400 years worth of scholarship got it all wrong and the laymen got it right, huh? I wish such people would do their research before they opened their mouths.]

